The Day of Murals

I find it interesting how Christ orchestrates things according to the circumstances we’re in. Of course, He’s certainly neither governed by our circumstances nor limited by them, but whatever they may be, He always has a plan to work accordingly, giving us what we need, exactly when we need it, seldom early, but never late.

When the disciples were first called by Christ to follow Him, the gospel account of Luke tells of how He showed His power as the Son of God in a situation that the disciples Peter and Andrew experienced everyday (5:1-11). He showed them a small glimpse of why He was worth following.

I’m beginning to see that it’s not enough to just tell people about the gospel, not enough to just want them to be saved. I’m being reminded in an awful way that there are people, women my age who are struggling with seemingly undefeatable demons, and they need more than someone telling them to repent. They need Christ, and they need Him to do something.

But then there’s God’s teaching me how to be patient, how to wait until a decision is made and someone asks for intervention. I of course respond with the thought that intervention is never asked for, that’s why it’s called intervention. And yet I sit here and think about how patient God is with me, how many times I’ve gone off and tried to maneuver, conquer, and win over the world without Him, and He’s waited for me to come back, to “return will all my heart” (Joel 2:12). How can He be so patient? I just want to fix everything and magically make everything better, and yet I’m incapable and impatient, and yet He sits and waits and asks that I sit and wait. But He is a God of action.

There’s just a lot of waiting going on around here.

Of course, my first reaction is “God! We have to move now! What if so and so does this? What if this happens?” and my personal favorite, “The world is going to end if I don’t do something right now in this very instant.”

Yeah.

But God never entertains my fears like I do. He always replies with “wait.” Not a “you need to chill and just relax,” or a “you’re right, let’s go,” but a “Hunter, just wait on Me. You can trust Me.” And so I wait.

I’ve had too many times where I’ve rushed head first into things only to mess them up horribly or deeply injure someone I care about. So the best thing, I’ve learned, is to wait on Him, and trust that He’s going to act and give me an opportunity to act.

The other thing is, God never intends for you to stay waiting, unless of course the result of your waiting will come long after you’re in heaven with Him. But usually, for me at least, when God asks me to wait for something, asks me to trust Him to bring something about, asks me to focus on Him and not focus so much on worrying about the thing that I’m waiting for, He brings it about in His perfect timing, whether I’m waiting for the right opportunity to act, waiting for another person to act, or waiting for God to act. It all comes back to Him.

Today Karly and I set out early, grabbed some breakfast and then walked to Williamsburg. I walked around with her as she took pictures of the place, and I noted immediately that we were the only two non-Jewish people in the area. An entire Jewish community sat right near the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, and it seemed that all of its members were walking around today. I tried to smile at some of them and say hello, but no one would look at me or Karly. At one point I smiled and made eye contact with one woman, and she seemed like she wanted to smile but refrained with great effort.

The day was beautiful. The sun was out, and though it was very cold, with that wind that bites and cuts right through your layers and nips at the tips of your fingers, we stayed warm enough from walking all over the place. In Williamsburg, there are tons of full scale murals on the sides of buildings, both short and tall, wide and long. It almost seemed like the place could be mapped out by the murals rather than by the street signs 🙂

For lunch Karly was very kind and treated me to a bagel shop we’d seen on the way along Bedford Ave. We stepped in and were overwhelmed by how many different kinds of bagels and cream cheese and other delicious things there were, from hot sandwiches to Italian cappuccino. We both settled on French toast bagels, which were adorned with a generous layer of powdered sugar and hot chocolate to warm us up from being outside for so long. I played it safe and got regular cream cheese while Karly went for the cannoli. Other kinds included buffalo, spinach-artichoke, Nutella, lasagna, and red velvet cake cream cheese.

We took our food and our drinks and, after having a small hot chocolate issue, headed out to find a park or bench somewhere along the way back home where we could sit and eat and talk and enjoy the day. Eventually we found the Continental Army Park, a cement island built around a Valley Forge statue of George Washington atop a green copper horse.

It was awesome 🙂

After eating and talking and chilling (literally), we finally headed home. It’s a nice walk, from Pratt to Williamsburg, from Williamsburg to Pratt, all sun and shops, all roads and people, but not too many of any.

We got back on campus and I headed to my dorm and Karly to hers. The moment I walked in the room, I fell asleep. My sleep cycle has been off all week, putting me at about five to six hours a night, which is not okay. When I woke up I did my Bible Study and then attempted to put a dent in my final project for Travel Writing before going to work out. The work out was much needed.

The past couple of days haven’t been easy considering different things, but God has used them to continuously remind me that I just can’t do it without Him, that I need Him to do supernatural things in the lives of the people around me that I’m just not capable of doing. But again, this entire adventure thus far and farther on was and will never be about what I can do, but about what Christ can do through me, and though I’d love to be able to fix everything and solve every problem and save everyone, I just can’t. But God can. I don’t know everything, what’s going to happen. But God does. And I can’t fathom the results of my day-to-day decisions, the ones He uses to glorify Himself and bring me closer to Him and help me learn to trust Him more and be more like Him and follow Him more completely….but God knows, He knows how all of this is going to turn out and I trust that He’s going to use this time for something extraordinary, something magnificent, something insane. And I hope I get to see at least a glimpse 🙂

“From where, then, does wisdom come? And where is the place of understanding? It is hidden from the eyes of all living and concealed from the birds of the air. Abaddon and Death say, ‘We have heard a rumor of it with our ears.’ God understands the way to it, and he knows its place. For he looks to the ends of the earth and sees everything under the heavens. When he gave to the wind its weight and apportioned the waters by measure, when he made a decree for he rain and a way for the lightning of the thunder, then he saw it and declared it; he established it, and searched it out. And he said to man, ‘Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom, and to turn away from evil is understanding.'”

—Job 29:20-28, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

