Immutable Good

Apparently, you can’t bike 23 miles a week, workout rigorously three days a week, and keep up with a college-level/internship-level workload and not eat legitimate protein, AKA meat.

I really, honestly, didn’t even think about the fact that MEAT IS APPARENTLY IMPORTANT…anyway, lesson learned. Need to eat meat. Meat is good. Yeah.

That explains the ridiculous fatigue and exhaustion that I’ve been experiencing for the last week and a half. At first I thought I was fighting laziness or procrastination or something like that but of course that doesn’t make any sense because it wasn’t a matter of not getting my work done (since I always get all of my work done) or not even of not wanting to do it (I really secretly kind of actually enjoy homework, especially research papers and French assignments, but that’s somewhat irrelevant) but it was a matter of the fact that I would start to do an assignment or read a book or anything (even the study breaks when I would take ten minutes to do something mindless like Pinterest or buying floss) I would find myself waking up with my head on my desk or somehow in my bed. Now that’s an interesting feeling. Anyway, the take-care-of-your-body lesson is apparently another lesson I will have to learn over and over again.

This morning I didn’t go to church. I got up to do my Bible Study and kept finding myself back in bed, and I went through this process at least four times over the course of an hour before I finally gave in and slept. It was only an hour or so after waking up, while I was talking to God about the exhaustion that I realized what the problem was. It’s not even that I don’t like meat or was not eating it on purpose. It was just like “hey, this vegan pizza looks good,” and “hm, I think I’ll have eggplant parm for dinner,” and “Special K and skim milk is so good for me!” And while none of these choices are bad, I just, yeah. Anyway, meat. Important.

I sat down and read through the Bible Study we’re doing in Sunday school, in which we’re talking about God’s glory. We’ve been focusing thus far on Exodus chapter 3 when Moses asks to see God’s glory, particularly talking about how Moses wore a veil afterwards because the Israelites couldn’t handle the sight of a man manifesting God’s glory. This morning it brought me to 2 Corinthians 3:12-18.

“Since we have such hope, we are very bold, not like Moses, who would put a veil over his face so that the Israelites might not gaze at the outcome of what was being brought to an end. But their minds were hardened. For to this day, when they read the old covenenant, that same veil remains unlifted, because only through Christ is it taken away. Yes, to this day whenever Moses is read a veil lies over their hearts. But when one turns to the Lord, the veil is removed. Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”

So I’ve read this passage a million times. Quite literally a million times. And yet God’s word is amazing in the way that you never get the same thing when you open it. Sure, it never changes and always remains absolute, but there’s always something new to learn from something you’ve seen before πŸ™‚

When Christ came and died for us on the cross, when He wiped our sins away by the power of His blood, He took us out from under the law and put us instead under His saving grace. But what I didn’t realize is the reason behind Moses putting on a veil to shield everyone from God’s glory.

Verse 13 in 2 Corinthians chapter 3 says, “not like Moses, who would put a veil over his face so that the Israelites might not gaze at the outcome of what was being brought to an end.” So, God’s glory here, staying on Moses’ face begins to fade, it begins to leave him. Moses was certainly changed and transformed by this experience (who wouldn’t be?), but the glory was fading. This is likened to the passing and temporary glory intended for the old covenant, or the Law. The “outcome of what was being brought to an end,” I believe, was referring to the ending of the reign of the Law over humanity, and the coming about of the new covenant made by Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection.

But I’d never caught that before. I also never connected the fact (or maybe I have and I’ve written about it before but it’s just so awesome that it’s like brand new to me, which is also entirely possible) that the veil of the old covenant, when God’s people looked at the Law, was the thing that was making their hearts and minds hardened towards His saving grace, because all they could was what they had to try to do to get to Him, to please Him, not seeing that the glory of the old covenant passed away, and now the Law of Grace had come to lift the veil and reconcile them to Christ. Oh! Cool! πŸ˜€

I really do wonder sometimes how some people think the Bible is boring πŸ˜›

The rest of the day was spent eating chicken, basically, and working on Douglas’s Adventure Story, part 3, which I just realized the other day has a deadline for the 19th and must be completed by then. Today I was reminded of how much I enjoy writing this story for him, and a large part of me hopes he’ll always expect a part of the story at Christmas time, and won’t grow out of it πŸ™‚

I skyped with Mom for a while and learned of some struggles at home, some things that hit me rather hard, but that nonetheless show God’s glory and how He works in the lives of those that I love. I have to believe, despite what’s going on, that He has a plan and that if nothing else comes out of this…if I lose something very precious to me…He will still be God, and He will still be good. He’ll bring me and my family through it, and He’ll build me up in Him through it. He will still be God. He will still be good.

He will still be good.

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. He determines the number of stars; he gives to all of them their names. Great is our Lord, and abundant in power; his understanding is beyond measure.”Β  —Psalm 147:3-5, ESV

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

