Inadequacy is Inconceivable

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, especially those who are of the household of faith.” —Galatians 6:9-10

To continue on the subject of not giving up 🙂

I find that it’s really easy to forget, especially when you feel totally inadequate, that God has actually given you absolutely everything you need in order to accomplish the task He’s given you. Everything. The strength, the wisdom, the understanding, the patience, the self-control, the everything in Himself. He’s totally equipped us for everything He asks us to do.
Oh. Right.
Lately, feelings of inadequacy and helplessness have been plaguing my heart, and for a while I really wasn’t quite sure what to do about them. I wanted to just be able to fix things, and I was frustrated that I had no answers. And yet I knew that it wasn’t about my having all the answers or being some kind of superhuman, but rather it was about remembering the truths that God desires I know by heart.
“God has rarely given me an assignment that I considered to be in my league. Anything of priority in the Kingdom is out of our league. When we serve in our church, we must never forget that we are dealing with people’s lives—their internal struggles and eternal destinies. Sincerity and sweat do not always suffice. God places us in positions beyond our capabilities so that we will be at His absolute mercy, realizing that only He can succeed.” —Beth Moore
“…We are dealing with people’s lives—their internal struggles and their eternal destinies. Sincerity and sweat do not always suffice.”
I forget that where people are involved, (and people hurt and are rather complicated) things are never simple or easy or cut and dry. Each situation is different, and yet that doesn’t ever stop God from stepping over the lines of impossibility and changing and healing their hearts anyway.
That’s incredibly reassuring 🙂 To be part of that, I mean, part of that breaking down of walls and filling up empty spaces with something that never leaves you empty. Because it’s not just a process I can go through or a list of things I can complete. It’s the space in life when “sincerity and sweat don’t always suffice,” and Someone much more capable and powerful than I am must come in and break up rock and dirt to cultivate new life in a hurting human heart.
Speaking of inadequacy 😛 While doing “A Woman’s Heart” by Beth Moore with my sister and mother, I’m being reminded of the amazing ways God came through last summer at Camp BaYouCa. Being a counselor, and even preparing to become a counselor, was completely “out of my league.” I was a mess, full of worry and emotion and all “how on earth can I help anyone?” There were times, some of which I’ve shared, when my strength was just gone, and I had nothing left. I was running on too many cups of coffee, dirt scrapes, and pure adrenaline that burnt out too quickly. And yet, in spite of all my state, maybe even because of it (I tend to be more teachable and more useful when all of my guards and facades are ripped down by exhaustion 😛 ), lives were changed and girls grew closer to Christ. He gave me the will to keep moving, to be with my girls when I just wanted to give up, to get up every morning hours early to shower and spend time with Him before the day began…and that made all the difference. Looking back, there’s absolutely no way I could’ve done that on my own. I didn’t have it in me.
Interestingly enough, tonight, as I laid up in my room, reading through God’s word and doing my Bible study, all of the lesson was about being equipped and remembering how completely God has equipped me. He definitely knows exactly what I need when I need it 🙂
“Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.”  (1 Corinthians 12:4-7)
“But grace was given to each one of us according to the measure of Christ’s gift…And he gave the apostles, the prohpets, the evangelists, the shepherds, and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the body of Christ…”  (Ephesians 4:7, 11-12)
“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16-17)
I think it’s safe to say God has got me covered 🙂
The temptation is always to think, “This situation is miserable,” “This is impossible,” “There’s no way,” and, “God, you’ve clearly got the wrong girl.” But God never seems to think that way…ever. He has complete confidence in my ability to depend on His ability 😛 As His friend (and He does call me that…) He trusts me to trust Him, believes in me and is proud of me as His daughter. He does not associate with me begrudgingly, and He does not listen to me and revive me in His word hesitantly or reluctantly. He is resilient, ready, solid, and steady. He desires for me to run to Him and ask Him for help, and live in dependency on Him. He’s not like “Man, now Hunter has to depend on me. Ugh.” He created me that way, designed me for complete dependence on Him and Him alone. So I can feel completely relieved and at peace about depending on Him. No pride has to be involved. No fear has to step in. God wants me and I can accept that freely.
About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

