It’s Almost Like He’s Listening

During lunch today I sat in the Pie Shop, praying for Jake, for his guys, for their leaders, for soldiers. Against the attacks of the enemy I’ve been praying for the girls on campus, for Taylor, Charlene, Kat, and Bree. Today, while I was sitting in my usual spot, while I was praying, I had my Bible open and my flashcards out, reading over familiar passages to remind me of truths I would need later in the day, whether I knew it or not.

“Lord, why is just reaching out to people, like right now, in the Pie Shop, so hard? Why don’t I just go over to someone and talk to them? *Sigh* Could you please send me people who’ll talk to me about what I’m doing or reading? Or give me the words and the courage to just talk to them about their faith…”

“What, are you in Bible school?”

I looked up to see a woman sitting across from me. She was dining on a piece of fried chicken, sporting a North Face backpack and a blue Columbia athletic wear T-shirt, clearly a gym rat.

“Oh!” I put my pen down. “Haha, no, I’m just…” I looked down at my open journal. “I’m just praying,” I said.

“Well, you’re brave having all of that out here,” she said, widening her eyes.

“How do you mean?”

To make a shout out to the blogger behind River Walk, opportunities like this are golden. Not in the sinister way of having a personal agenda for a personal gain, but a genuine opportunity to talk to someone about Christ, get to know them, and depend on God through it all.

Turns out she attended the International House of Prayer before coming to Pratt as a sculpture student, having grown up in the church, her mother being a hymn writer. Disillusioned. The people at IHOP were too intense, very focused on the end times. I don’t know much about IHOP (except that they have marvelously awesome pancakes πŸ˜› Just kidding), but I’ve never known someone to come from there.

We talked about God, about prayer, about His Word, swapped opinions about majors and about school, and while she didn’t up and reclaim her faith and devote herself to pursuing a relationship with Christ, she still made a friend, and so did I πŸ˜€ She commended me for sitting out in the open with my Bible, being willing to talk to her, and then she left, telling me she’d see me around.

And I sat there, amazed, dumbfounded, wearing just the stupidest grin on my face, because I knew my Father was listening to me, that the Lover of my soul cared enough, and is powerful enough, to answer my prayers in the blink of an eye, even before I’ve finished asking…

“If you who are evil know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask?” (Matthew 7:11)

And I had been bummin’, just a little, at not being able to meet up with Taylor or Laura, and God still made the day encouraging.

It’s almost like He’s listening πŸ™‚

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

