Rise To It

Sneakers against studio hardwood.

Slam.

Shuffle.

“I got defense!”

Slam.

Shuffle.

Sneakers.

As I ran and jumped and skipped, did push ups of the regular and pop-up (no) variety, sprinted, laughed, shook, squatted, broke myself, I couldn’t help but smile the entire time. The challenge and the adrenaline transported me back to the victory of completing a fireman’s carry, bear crawls, my dad talking about teamwork, family, dignity, honor, being strong enough to do anything, invincible. And yet, it was easy to look around and see God, see His beauty in the girls around me, and remember how much He loves them and wants them to know Him. It was a time of affirming them, and being taught by Him how to love them the way He does.

Oh, God.

The thought “God, what are You doing?” has been running through my head a lot. Not like “How dare You,” or “Do You have any idea…” fill in the blank, but rather, “Oh my goodness…You’re a lot more here and a lot more involved and much more powerful than I thought…”

Last night I left Bible study just absolutely shaken by God’s awesomeness. I was beside myself. I was walking away from the Pie Shop and realized I’d stopped walking, because I was thinking, I was thinking, “God, what are You doing here?”

I’d been thinking about Bible study all week, not satisfied with just going and then leaving. I wasn’t satisfied with bringing my classmates into my world, into God’s world of adventure and into His love letter to them for only a night. I wanted it every moment of every day of every week. I wanted it bad. I wanted Him to have it, have Bible Study, and do with it more than I could ever do depending on myself.

So I prayed over Bible study and over my classmates all week. Laura and I met up some time before Bible study started and we prayed over it together. And then everyone came to Bible study.

And God showed up.

The conversation ebbed and flowed as we went through the first chapter of John. My classmates asked questions, I asked questions. They worked together. Laura ministered with me. No one seemed to be nervous or afraid. Everyone read together. Everyone came ready. And they left with a challenge. I left with a challenge. I talked to Kat afterwards…something very deep and very powerful has changed in her. I couldn’t believe it.

And so I left, shocked.

Bree and I had a continued conversation after Bible study about something discussed, and we were able to better communicate through a misunderstanding and it ended with both of us actually understanding each other.

And now, tonight, the first training session with my basketball team is over, and it was intense. Fun, insanely fun. But intense. Difficult. Hard. But oh, fun 🙂 And I was overwhelmed with God’s ability to draw out the excitement in me and use it to fuel my actions during, of all things, something competitive. I could love the girls and affirm them and be corrected by them. It was enough. He was enough.

Oh, He was enough 🙂

About newminority16

Hi, my name is Hunter. I very often make random comments about bacon and how chocolate is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy :) So, before I started this blog, I was getting ready to make one of the biggest decisions of my life: college. God led me to go to a secular college in New York City, a place I was deathly afraid of. It's followed me through those years at college straight into married life and becoming a military spouse, all while seeking to following Christ and know God better and share Him with others. This blog is a way for you to go with me through these adventures, through being a Christian in a world that's forgotten its Creator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rise To It

  1. Pingback: Rise To It | Christians Anonymous

  2. Pat Nettleton says:

    Awesome Hunter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

